Recent Life Lessons

I have a lot of friends who are currently in the season of singleness. And while I wasn’t in that arena for long, I am glad I did experience it. Marriage has helped me to realize the importance of having been single and having lived on my own – even if only for a semester of college was I living entirely alone in a single dorm. During that semester I dealt with a lot of personal things, some stemming from having been long distance with Trevor, but I also learned a lot. Some of these life lessons have only now come to realization now that I have been married for a year.

God works in such mysterious ways, and we never know how these “nows” will impact our “laters”. I’ve learned, perhaps most importantly, this first year of marriage, the importance of embracing the “nows” – no future day will ever be the same as now. Today’s experiences shape tomorrow. Today’s reflections impact tomorrow’s plans and thoughts and actions and words. Everything matters.

While this post has gotten a little more philosophical than I had initially anticipated – it has been so eye opening to come to a realization that life presents us with so many revelations and that God does truly work in our lives.

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”

-Romans 8:28 ESV

Leave a Reply

