Life is Crazy

It’s been over a month since I last blogged. I’m not going to go into details, but the time alone proves how crazy and busy life has been here. SO MUCH IS GOING ON. It really only gets crazier from here.

Trevor graduated from college on Saturday and finals are around the corner for me. I’m in a wedding on Sunday and am starting a new job in two weeks. Trevor and I leave for DC/NY in about two and a half weeks and will be back in GB three weekends in a row shortly. Life is crazy.

While I have often been dubbed the queen of anxiety, and this stuff has not made me any different, life has been different this time around. I still struggle with my anxiety – a lot. Some days I have to return home to calm myself down, others I have to get out of the house to do so. Each day is a new struggle, but Trevor keeps reminding me of the only thing that matters: God has it figured out.

2 Timothy 1:6-7 says,

For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.

How awesome is God?! He wants us to be people who live lives filled with this love and power and self-control. We aren’t to be fearful of what our days will bring, even in those darkest of times. We are to turn to him, and for me that means especially on those days that I am filled with fear.

So how do I live a life full of love? Lately, I have been focusing my life of love on my husband. He’s had some things going on that really call for some extra attention and love to be needed for him, and as his wife I am so blessed to be the one to give him those things he needs. I have also been working hard to pray for those in my life that I think may need some extra love, whether it’s due to school work or relationships or anything under the sun.

A life of power is something I am still working on. For me it fits closely with that self-control piece, so I’ll talk about them together. Self-control is something that is difficult to grasp with anxiety, in addition to that I often feel completely powerless amid heightened anxiety thoughts. Trevor and I have been spending extra time praying together before going to bed to work on this. He knows so well that I need prayers for peace to serve me in both areas of power and self-control. The power of prayer is so amazing, and it never ceases to amaze me how God works through it in my life.

So yes, life has been crazy lately. But God is watching out for me, and I’ll make it through the good and the bad crazy times ahead.

Leave a Reply

