Growing Up

Today I had one of those weird moments where you realize you’re an adult. I was reading my friend’s blog and it just kind of hit me.

She’s in nursing school and it made me realize that we’re all finishing up college already. It’s been hitting me a lot lately that I will be doing my student teaching next semester, but to see my peers going through similarly exciting and important parts of their academic programs really hit home the point. We’re growing up. Some of us have grown up already. I may still be in school, but I am married. My best friend is getting married in less than two months. I have several friends who have children already. WHAT!? When did all of this happen? And how did it happen so quickly?

I recently came across a large document of information regarding the call process that I will be going through in a few months. For those of you outside of the Lutheran circle, the call process is a placement process for teachers, pastors, DCEs, and DCOs (I think there are a few others too, but I cannot think of them off the top of my head). For me, as I am getting my minor in Lutheran Theology at an LCMS school, I will receive a call to an LCMS school. While I have grown up within this process and gained a lot of firsthand experience with it, there were still many questions I have had. This document answered pretty much answered all of it. It has me beyond excited to begin filling out paperwork (my first meeting will be sometime after Easter!!) and get the wheels turning. This has really hit home the whole growing up idea, too.

I have really been into the “On This Day” feature on Facebook lately. This is partially due to my love of reminiscing, but also because it’s crazy to realize how long ago some of those oh-so-important high school memories were. Like, wow, it’s been almost three years since I graduated from high school. My baby sister graduates in May!

I am just dumbfounded by everything that has happened in my life and how wonderfully well God has established my path. Please keep Trevor and me in your prayers as the call process begins as well as for our schedules. We keep getting busier and it’s becoming reality that we need to actually plan dates.

Remember kids, don’t grow up too fast. You’ll be there before you know it.
XO Elisebeth

Leave a Reply

