5 Ways to Feel Better After Being Sick

Hey everyone!

If you follow me on Twitter (@hovie06) you know I came down with an awful case of food poisoning over the weekend. I am still recovering, but am feeling much better than Friday night. Trevor has been such an amazing guy and helped me out so much. I honestly don’t know how I would have made it without him.

So while I am not yet back to 100%, I thought I would share with you all how I get back to being me again after being sick! Note: All of these tips are things I have done after I have followed doctor instruction on medication and am feeling much better already.

5-ways-to-feel-better

Go about your regular routine.

This one is a hard one for me. I always need gobs of rest after getting sick, and this time was no different. So I implemented this one with one exception – don’t establish time restraints. I got myself going in my morning makeup and clothes routine at about 11:30 today, and I took my sweet time doing it! I feel so much better just having gotten something done today, even if it took me 10x longer than normal.

Make yourself look good.

Even if you feel not so great still, this one is a huge one! I don’t normally jump straight into my full makeup routine, but I do at least my face makeup and my hair. This helps me build confidence again about myself, even if I was wrenching my guts out two nights ago and moaning nonstop. I also wear my favorite comfy clothes – BUT NOT SWEATPANTS. As much as I love sweatpants, they don’t help my self-esteem on not-so-hot days. Today I put on my favorite jeans and I feel a thousand times better. Plus, since I threw up so much, I look super skinny in them. But honestly, nothing is better than my oversized tee and a cozy cardigan.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Do something for you.

Not that laying in bed the past two and a half days hasn’t been for you, but make yourself happy by doing something for you. What I did for myself for today was light my favorite candle (cafe macchiato) in my bedroom while I got ready. Pretty simple if you ask me.

Don’t be afraid to say no.

You are still recovering from being sick, so you have the right to take it easy. I skipped two of my classes today because I didn’t think I could make it through without having to rush to the bathroom. I also have a 3 hour and 50 minute night class tonight (!!) and I am planning on leaving early so I can get enough rest in tonight. Know what your body needs and don’t push yourself too hard or you’ll end up back in bed.

Accept those positive words.

You worked your butt off to not look like you were dying all weekend, so you better accept any and all compliments that come your way. I got plenty when people found out I had been bed-stricken all weekend and look how I do right now. I’m not saying you should use this as leverage, but don’t turn away those positive words that can uplift your soul.


 

This is obviously not a complete list, as everyone is unique in their own way – but these are what works well for me!

Let me know what you do to make yourself feel better in the comments below, I would love to add to my personal inventory!

XO Elisebeth

One thought on “5 Ways to Feel Better After Being Sick

Leave a Reply

