Tried it Thursday {Acorn Squash}

I’m so excited to share this recipe with you all. I just made it earlier this week and cannot wait to make it again soon!

Whether you’ve tried squash before or not, I suggest you give this recipe a go. It is super cheap and uses very few ingredients.

I bought our acorn squash at ALDI – they’re only 89 cents there! Trevor and I have begun shopping there to save some money. I compared the price to what it is at Target (where we used to buy our groceries) and they are sold for $1.89 there. So go buy your acorn squash at ALDI, I just bought more today!

Follow me on Instagram (@hovie06) for future blog post previews!

What you need:

  • a pan (13×9 suggested in original recipe)
  • water
  • acorn squash
  • butter
  • brown sugar (optional, but suggested 🙂 )

How to make Acorn Squash:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350F.
  2. Slice acorn squash in half and remove the seeds + pulp (kinda like a pumpkin!)
  3. Fill pan with about a half inch of water. Place squash halves in pan, like seen below.

*I suggest if the stem is long or curved to cut that off too. I did not do this and it caused issues later on.


4. Place pan in oven for 40-45 minutes.
5. Remove after time is done. 6. VERY CAREFULLY flip squash over. I used tongs because mine were so hot I nearly burned myself.
7. Put lots of butter in the hole of the squash. (See where that curved stem caused me some issues…) 8. Add brown sugar to the hole of the squash (optional).

9. Place back in oven for approximately 10 minutes.
10. Remove from oven and decide how you want to eat!

Two easy options for eating this tasty meal are straight from the squash skin, like shown below…
OR scooping all of the squash goodness into a bowl and mixing it all together!  I prefer the second method because I can mix in a little extra brown sugar.

See, I told you it’s an easy recipe! To see the original click HERE.

If you have any suggestions on how to improve this recipe or feedback on how the recipe went for you, comment below! I would love to hear your thoughts on this delicious meal.

XO Elisebeth

One thought on “Tried it Thursday {Acorn Squash}

Leave a Reply

