What’s Up

“What’s Up?”

The classic second text from someone, after they acknowledge your greeting.

Often, I just respond with something along the lines of, “not much,” or, “just chillin.” However, lately, it’s been more along the lines of, “just avoiding packing,” or, “trying to not be too stressed.”

Life catches up with you sometimes. Those times are when you miss the, “not much,” “just chillin,” moments of your life.

I’m definitely not saying that every little ounce of stress is bad though. I think stress can be great. It’s a terrific motivator, for one. But it’s when the stress takes over your entire life, that the issues pop up.

I have had tremendous issues with that in the past, but I’m working on it. I actually think that planning the wedding has been a lot of help. I’ve had this overbearing, constant stress with the millions of things to do, so I have had to work on dealing with a continual amount of stress. In the past, this would have meant a lot of dark and hard nights to work through.

But I’ve gotten a lot better at how I handle my stress now. I vent on here. I go take pictures. I go on walks. I work. I talk with Trevor about it. I no longer turn to a blade to deal with the stress.

At the beginning of the wedding planning process, I knew I would be taking on a lot of stress. I realized that going to school, working, and planning a wedding would be quite the challenge for me. And don’t get me wrong, it has been. But I made a promise to myself last August, that I wasn’t going to have any new scars on my wedding day. There have only been two days since that promise that I have broken down and cut myself. Both times, I felt more regret than ever from those decisions. I think a big contribution to that was that I knew I was not only hurting myself, but Trevor too. It’s a crazy thing – to be loved.

Love makes you do some strange things. In some cases, they can be negative. But in my case, it was beyond a positive thing. Trevor has helped me through so much, some of which I don’t even think he realizes.

So that’s what’s up. I’m being grateful for better stress management and for an awesome guy in my life to help me through it all.

Let me know what’s up with you….

XO Elisebeth

Leave a Reply

