Our Home

Last Friday (6/19), Trevor and I made a trip to Saint Paul, MN where we will be living next year. We viewed three apartment buildings, and 4 units total. The first two were in the same building, we liked them both but were not super drawn to either of them. The second building, was run by the same company so we figured it would likely be a good fit. We walked into the room and took a look around. That showing lasted about 15 minutes. We sat in the car until our next showing, discussing how transportation could possibly work with the location of this one. It was the farthest from the green line out of the three. We decided we both loved this apartment’s vibe and could see ourselves living there. But could we afford the price? We went to our final showing, and were quickly unimpressed. At the close of the showing she mentioned the price, which was $15 more than listed online. I immediately knew I could not live in that building due to the combination of things we noted: building smell, crazy lady property manager, weird tenants.

The obvious decision was the second building. So we drove to Target and sat in the Starbucks to fill out an application. I texted the property manager and told him we were applying.

After a week of sitting around, waiting, and corresponding through email with the individual filing our application, we found out we have been accepted for the apartment! I couldn’t be happier!

It’s a beautiful one bedroom apartment at Yale Apartments. If you look at the link, the unit we are getting is Floor Plan C.

Now I can’t stop looking at home decor ideas (I apologize if you follow me on Pinterest). I know Trevor is very specific in his home decor “needs,” so I have been keeping those in mind.

Here are some of my favorite ideas from Pinterest that I hope to include in our home.

home decor 1

What I love about this picture? PLANTS. This last year I bought three succulents from IKEA – and they are my babies. Since Trevor doesn’t want real babies for awhile, I’ll stick to green things. I even named mine! Henrietta, Herb, and (I’m an awful plant mommy-I don’t remember the third name)!home decor 2I love this picture because of the wall decor and the couch pillows. I’m a sucker for good pillows.home decor 3 This picture shows my desires for kitchen cabinets. I love the idea of open cabinets – it forces you to keep them tidy! However, our apartment has doors on the cabinets, so we will be able to cover any possible mess – not that Trevor will ever allow that.home decor 4 This picture is a good representation of how I would love our bedroom to look. I love the light & open feel of this picture. The rug is also spot on in my opinion.home decor 5 I love the simplicity of this kitchen! The kitchen in our apartment will be super small, so I don’t think we could fit a bench area like that in there, but that would be a dream. However,  I really like this table and the chairs too – I would be more than happy to have those.home decor 6 Trevor loves pictures – obvi. We plan on getting some of our pictures printed and framed to decorate our place with. I would love a photo wall like this in our entry way!

I’m hopeful for a trendy and awesome apartment that feels like home for us. I cannot wait to move in on August 3!

One thought on “Our Home

Leave a Reply

