#blessed

So I’m super good at being pessimistic and hating my life. Ask anyone who’s spent more than a week’s time with me.

I’ve recently set a goal to be less in that mindset.

So how’s that going?

Well if you’ve read my last few blog posts, you’ll note that it’s not going very well. I am such a pro at finding anything to complain about. But there’s so much to be thankful for!

So I decided this post will be dedicated to listing what I am thankful for in my life:

  • My job
    • A lot of times I complain about hating my nanny job. It’s been incredibly stressful this last week. But alone time with those kiddos makes me more insightful about life. I also complain a lot about working in the food industry. However today I was reminded how awesome it is to work at Pizza Ranch. I worked my 6 hour shift with Trevor (which is always a blessing), I made nearly $80 in tips, and the GMs gave Trevor and me two full event Lifest tickets! Pizza Ranch has been such a blessing in my life.
  • My family
    • My parents have been down in Guatemala on a mission trip the past week and a half. So Katherine and I have been on our own. I have been enjoying my freedom, however, I’m also so much more aware of my dependence on my parents over the summer when they leave. I often go on and on about how much my parents bother me and have stupid expectations – but I know they have good intentions.
  • Technology
    • Trevor sat on his phone today and cracked his iPhone 6’s screen. I’m thankful to have a phone and many other technological elements in my life. Even though some are quite outdated and not as nice as I’d love – I still have them and I shouldn’t take that for granted.
  • Trevor
    • I seldom complain about Trevor (on here anyway). However, I know I can get pretty selfish about spending time with him. So he’s on this list because of all of the times I may have made him feel guilty for spending time with his friends or for his alone time. I just can’t get enough of this guy!
  • Transportation
    • Yesterday, Trevor and I drove to Saint Paul and back to do a few apartment showings (I’ll tell you more about those later). I am so thankful that he has a car and we were able to make a trip like that. Cars are one of those everyday “necessities” that I’m really good at taking advantage of… This past year in Saint Paul kind of humbled me of that though. Walking to work for nearly every shift and taking public transportation to get to Trevor’s puts things into perspective a bit.

I’m sure I could extend this list tenfold, but these were some things that particularly hit me in the face today on my drive home from work.

Life is pretty awesome when you take a deeper look. I highly suggest you look at your own life and realize what you have to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

