6 Reasons Why it Sucks to Come Home from College for Summer

I just finished my second year in college. I have a year and a half left-I get to finish a semester early than originally projected! While I am looking forward to this exciting summer. There are a lot of downsides to this summer as well.

Last year, I enjoyed moving home for the summer. It meant having my own room and the comfort of my home. Not having to pay for my own food is a perk, too-right? Well, this summer I am having different thoughts…

Here are my reasons as to why it sucks to come home from college for summer….

1. Living by your parents’ rules.

I don’t know about you guys, but my parents established a lot of rules within a week of me getting home. Aren’t they supposed to be enjoying having me home? I only visited like 4 times the entire school year. Life’s not really like those college movies apparently. I have been given the rule that if I do not work 6 hours or more on a day, I have to do an extensive cleaning project. I made sure to clarify what that meant: putting away clean dishes and loading/starting the dishwasher again, cleaning toilets, vacuuming, etc. I don’t start my 36 hour a week nanny job until June 8. So it looks like I’ll be doing a lot of cleaning except for Fridays & Saturdays when I’m at Pizza Ranch. The real question is, does my photography count toward those 6 hours? I would say yes, but I’m not the one in charge.

2. Lack of transportation available.

In the Twin Cities, there are bus routes that will take you anywhere and everywhere you could imagine. There is also a metro train that connects Saint Paul to Minneapolis to Bloomington. Granted it takes a while to get anywhere on it, you still have the option. My family of 4 only has 2 cars. Everyone has their license. You do the math. It’s a constant battle between who gets the car and what task is considered important enough to get the car. Also, Green Bay doesn’t have buses that run regularly enough to get anywhere by that method. I guess it’s time to pump up my bike tires because if I want to go anywhere on a whim-it’s not happening by car.

3. No alone time.

At Concordia, I had the perfect living arrangements. All of my roommates understood that each of us needed our own time, and spent that time doing what we enjoyed. We lived in a 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom dorm. Basically, if we wanted alone time we went to our rooms and closed the door. My home is different though. My bedroom only has two outlets with three prongs (my laptop cord needs a three prong outlet). One of these outlets is behind my bed and has my bedside lamp plugged in to it. The other is behind my dresser and cannot be reached. Thus, my laptop has to be charged in the living room. I could go on and on about how this is effecting my inability to have alone time, but I’m sure you’ve connected the dots already. The lack of alone time also has its effects on my relationship. This past year Trevor and I have gotten used to the idea of being able to watch a movie in peace in his bedroom. That doesn’t happen so easily at either of our homes.

4. Weird food.

I love not having to pay for my own groceries. However, this has drawbacks too. My mom is on an extremely restricted diet due to health issues. She is also the one that does most of the grocery shopping. I suppose it’s my own fault for getting addicted to bagels, chai, and Luna bars during the school year and should get over the fact that I can’t have them all the time here. But still. Do I have to make my own “real” food for every meal? Why can’t I just eat ice cream for dinner like I did the whole last week of school?

5. Curfew.

My parents have never established curfew for me. However, either they have begun going to bed earlier or I have been staying out later because several times this summer already I have gotten home to a dark home and locked doors. Thank goodness I always have house keys with me. Last night was cold though! And it took me a solid 10 minutes to try to unlock the front door. I’m thankful my parents have never set curfew, but they do generally ask for an estimated time back. I’m really bad at figuring that out so I normally just say, “I’m going to try to be home earlier than last night….”

6. Where are you?

I’m definitely not enjoying the constant question of where I am. Can’t I just go explore sometime? That was thing I super enjoyed about this past year in the Cities. I could hop on the metro and get off at a random stop. I’d then look for little stores & coffee shops. I can’t do that here. I have to have some end location in mind or there’s no way I get a car.

(If you have any reasons to add, feel free to comment with them.)

I’m sure by the end of the summer this list will have lengthened dramatically. I certainly miss the freedom I had this past school year. However, it’s my last summer home, and I won’t even be here for all of it. There’s a lot coming up within the next couple of months, so I’ll have to learn to get over these things quickly if I plan to enjoy summer at all.

Leave a Reply

